One of Those Days!

headache-mom

It was just One of those days!! …… you know, the ones where NOTHING seems to go right, and the day can’t end fast enough.  We’ve all said it, and we’ve all experienced it.

As a homeschool mom who is  on my second year in,  you could say that I am still getting used to things.  On the most part, I feel like I have a handle on things, and feel good with how it’s gone so far…. but there is always the odd day that I feel greatly challenged.  Certain school work doesn’t get done, the house seems way messier than i can stand, or distractions like a crying baby occur ALL day.

These are the days that by 5 o’clock, my eyes are full of tears,  my body is aching,  and my husband can’t come home quick enough!. It’s at these times,  that I’ve discovered how much I NEED to be calling out for God’s grace

It will start out great … a good breakfast, smiles from everyone,  and a readiness to start our school work.   But,  shorty after breakfast, something changes –  the crying starts, bad attitudes creep in, and the discipline begins..  All of a sudden multiple cups of milk are spilled, no one is listening to my voice, and the bickering of small children is the theme for the rest of the day….. SOUND FAMILIAR?  What happened?  why did the day end up this way?  and what could I have done to change it?   Every mom, including myself asks herself this. The feeling like you’ve let your family down, and things didn’t go as planned, is wearying!

As I took a long hot bath that night, I was reminded of two verses that can give a weary mom strength. Matthew 11:28 – 30

28 Then Jesus said, “Come to me, all of you who are weary and carry heavy burdens, and I will give you rest. 29 Take my yoke upon you. Let me teach you, because I am humble and gentle at heart, and you will find rest for your souls. 30 For my yoke is easy to bear, and the burden I give you is light.”   NLT

And Psalm 27:5

For he will conceal me there when troubles come;
he will hide me in his sanctuary.
He will place me out of reach on a high rock.  NLT

God  holds me close, and I find comfort in Him.  That night, I found peace from God’s word, and comfort in His presence. I don’t want a bad day to discourage me or wrong thoughts to bring me down. I want to be refreshed, pick myself up,  and start again.     Every day won’t go just as we’ve planned,  and our kids won’t act just as we would like them to, but it’s not our job to make them perfect,  it is our job though, to direct them to Jesus!

289581_sunrise_trees

The next day seems to always  be a better one.  It allows me to look back and  learn from my own heart attitudes and my mistakes so that I can do things differently and hopefully better.  I love the fact that I am NEVER alone!,  no matter what kind of day I’m having,  I know that God is always with me, and He will give me the strength to get through.

2 thoughts on “One of Those Days!

Leave a Reply

