Cultivating A Love For Reading

At least once a week, my husband and I hear CHEERS from our children, as I tell them it’s library day!

That’s a great sound to hear.

Ever since I can remember, I have desired for my children to WANT to read. I desired for them to learn from reading, and get excited about reading their bibles. I never wanted to make them read, or have them dread it. We desire them to truly love it ….. And now, I literally can’t keep up with their reading (a good problem to have, I guess!)

We call our eldest daughter our ‘Book Worm’. She will consume chapter books like my husband does chicken wings. She even brings them to the bathroom with her to read…… but shhhhhh, we won’t tell her I mentioned that!.

reading

So, today I thought I would share some tips on how to create an atmosphere of reading in your home, and to stir your children’s desire to want to read:

Make reading time fun and interesting!  Scatter books all over your living room, so they can see them. Line them up along the wall for them to choose. Lay blankets down on the floor and everyone read a book on their bellies.

Get your kids books that interest them!  Ask them what topics they like and which series they desire, and specifically look for them at the library.

Make going to the library exciting!  Talk it up!, be excited yourself. Get them each a library card with their name on it.

Allow them to realize it is a privilege to read!  

Ask them about the stories they read!  Have them explain and talk to you about what they are reading.

Lead by example! Do some reading yourself. If you want your kids to read their bible in the morning, allow them to see you as that great leader. Don’t underestimate the impact you can have on your child’s development.

Read, Read, Read to your children!  “The sooner children read, the sooner they succeed”

Read your child’s bible to them! 

siblings

One of the best ‘messes’ to have around our house, is a floor FULL of scattered books with children rummaging  through them, all full of excitement.

My husband always reminded me that children need 1000 hours of reading time BEFORE they go to school.

All it takes is a beautiful 15-20 minutes a day for you to read to your kids, or share some reading time. So gather those children, sit them on your lap, and cherish that time reading with them. You will never regret it.

7 thoughts on “Cultivating A Love For Reading

  1. My 6yo has recently started consuming chapter books. I love it! Independence and love of reading has to be one of my favorite milestones!

  2. I found your website from the link-up on raisinghomemakers.com. I just HAD to visit your site (our “names” are so similar – I promise I had never heard of you before today and did not “steal” from you)! I really like your post! I have always said that teaching my children to read is the most important thing I can do in homeschooling!

    I would like to invite you to HomemakingHearts.com on Fridays for a brand new link-up; it would be a delight to have you join us!

    Gabriella

Leave a Reply

